Nominating Committee Letter

Dear Fellow Ebell Members,

We are your Nominating Committee for the next Ebell election cycle. Every year, we elect one-half of our board of directors to lead our nonprofit women’s organization. This year The Ebell may increase our board with the election of at-large members, if proposed changes to our bylaws are approved by the members.

We need your help to identify leaders for our board. We are looking for active members who have been a member in good standing for the past two years and are interested in serving as Ebell leaders. We are looking for collaborative problem solvers who can think broadly and strategically about the mission of the organization and its future needs. Ideal candidates will have nonprofit board experience, are adept at making complex decisions, and who are comfortable fundraising and working with staff leadership. Board members are expected to assist The Ebell in our efforts to renovate our historic campus.

Currently, the following seats on the board are up for election:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Board Director of Governance
  • Board Director of Programs
  • Board Director of Development
  • Board Director of Membership
  • Four seats on the Nominating Committee

We have the opportunity to involve at least eleven members in the leadership of The Ebell at this critical time in our history.

Traditionally, we have elected board members for specific roles on the board. This year, if the new bylaws pass, then all of our board members will become at-large members, except the President, Vice President, Secretary, Vice President of Finance and Treasurer.

The Nominating Committee will present a slate of nominees to the Ebell Board for approval at the February board meeting. We need your help to make sure we identify as many strong candidates as possible. We welcome members to self-nominate as well as to nominate someone they know.  The initial deadline for nominations from the membership was November 30, 2023. However, we have extended the deadline to February 1, 2024, to allow more participation from the membership. We welcome your nomination suggestions throughout this process.

This is both an exciting and challenging time for The Ebell. Please feel free to contact any of us if you have any questions. We look forward to hearing from you.

Patricia Lombard and Christine Tran, Nominating Committee Co-Chairs

Vivian Arterbery
Kay Balue
Marnie Bodek
Judith Day
Jane Gilman
Amy Green
Madelyn Murray

If you are ready to nominate, please click the button below for the Nomination Form.
NOTE: Members will need to be logged in to view and submit the form.